Contrasting Monologues

The Misanthrope by Moliere

I’m young, healthy [coughs], and sitting on oodles and oodles of wealth.

At the Battle of St. Gotthard, I took the Turk’s right flank

And Louis’ undying thanks.

Did I mention I have lots and lots of francs?

Then too, my mind is subtle, my figure sleek;

I have good bearing, good looks and unusually pretty teeth.

And as for the statement made by the way I dress,

Well, it its own quiet way, it invites patronage and success.

Yes, I’m loved by the king and deemed a total national treasure

By scores of womento whom I bring enormous pleasure.

Did I mention I have money beyond measure?

 

The Iceman Cometh by Eugene O’Neill

I kept swearing to her

every night that this time I really wouldn’t, until I’d made

It a real final test to myself- and to her. And she kept en-

couraging me and saying, “I know you’ll conquer it this time,

and we’ll be so happy dear.” When she’d say that and kiss me,

I’d believe it, too. Then she’d go to bed, and I’d stay up alone

because I couldn’t sleep and I didn’t want to disturb her, tossing

and rolling around. I’d get so damned lonely. I’d get thinking how

peaceful it was here, sitting around with the old gang, getting

drunk and forgetting love, joking and laughing and singing

and swapping lies. And finally I knew I’d have to come.

Leave a Reply

