Summer Movie Review

Indeed the summer is winding down, Autumn only a few weeks away. And while the Fall season will produce superb, high quality films there’s still something to be said about the movies from the past several months. Only now do I feel comfortable writing such reviews, because only now have I had the freedom to attend the theaters and witness many opening weekends. However, I will say that I’ll be ranking the BEST movies, not the worst, because frankly I didn’t want to waste my precious $9 ticket on garbage.

Public Enemies– This was probably my favorite movie of the summer. It’s a genre I love and Johnny Depp executed it perfectly, never missing a beat. A great period piece as well, the costumes and sets were fantastic- not to mention the killer soundtrack. Perhaps the film would have been better suited as a fall-season flick. This aside it presents Depp as a probable Oscar contender.

Inglourious Basterds– The other film from the summer that I foresee being included among the now 10 Best Picture nominees. Whereas Public Enemies had heart and grace, Basterds was just a rollicking gory good time that still managed to captivate us despite somewhat cumbersome plot lines. Brad Pitt and definitely Christoph Waltz as “The Jew Hunter” (destined to rank among the most infamous of movie villains) are probable Oscar nominees.

Drag Me to Hell- Despite fizzling with moviegoers, this was the best horror film I’ve seen in a long time. Why? Because it’s more slapstick comedy that horror, poking fun at it’s own genre. I will admit, however, that even I was hesitate at first but after hearing the name Sam Raimi (Evil Dead and Spider-man) as  director, my curiosity got the better of me. This picture was very well directed with the perfect amount of campy-ness from it’s stars. While not worthy of the Oscar, it will certainly be worthy of my DVD shelf.

Up- Yes, this movie is all that it’s hyped up to be. Now I’m not usually a fan of seeing animation at the theater, but after regretting not seeing Wall-E on the silver screen I knew I’d have to see Up. Full of action, adventure, and suspense this is another step for Pixar into more adult themed stories, and it worked. So if you’re like me and are dubious of the often over hyped animated movies, just know that you cannot go wrong with Pixar.

Star Trek- This was simply the best action movie of the summer. Sorry, but Transformers and G.I. Joe really did suck. “But it’s not supposed to be ‘good’, we just want action!”, they cry.Well Star Trek certainly defied that logic by being both action packed and good, great in fact. And what made it such a superb film was that even if you’ve never seen the TV series (like me), you’ll still laugh at the “inside” jokes and get wrapped up by the characters. Definitely worth your time, Trekkie or not.

And real quick the movies I did indeed waste nine bucks on.

Dragonball Z: Evolution- Ruined a classic television series.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen- Longest 2.5 hours of my life.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince- Wow, I’m so glad the Half Blood Prince was mentioned. once. at the end. But that’s all right! I’d much rather see emo Malfoy and angsty Harry/ Ginnie snogging for 2 hours anyways!

Huh, only 2? I’m so disappointed.

Leave a Reply

