The Old Town Gunslingers

“THE OLD TOWN GUNSLINGERS”

by
VINCENT S. HANNAM

General Mischief Productions, 2010

An outlaw named COLT MITCHUM is yelling in the street and causing a ruckus. He’s been in jail the past three years but is now back.

COLT
(laughing)
What, no welcome wagon? No parade down Main Street? I don’t think you remember just who I am, people of Old Town! And that’s a real shame! I’m Colt Mitchum and now I’m back! For good!

Another man appears. He’s the sheriff, DUKE MCCOY- an old nemesis of Colt’s.

DUKE
Hold it right there, Colt! Don’t make another move.

COLT
Well, well, well, look who’s finally decided to show up. ‘Bout time, Deputy. Three years behind bars was lonely without you. But where is the old sheriff?

DUKE
Looking at you square in the face.

COLT
Wow! Deputy Duke McCoy is finally moving up in the world. What favor did you have to do for the sheriff to land his sweet job?

DUKE
Got killed by a war tribe last Spring. Sorry to disappoint, I know how badly you wish it was your bullet.

COLT
Nah, I’m good.

DUKE
Tell me, Colt. What brings you back here to Old Town?

COLT
To tell you the truth, I was hoping to recruit you for a job I’m planning.

The crowd breaks out into a frenzied clamor.

COLT
Don’t worry! It ain’t gonna be here! I’m moving on to Wichita.

DUKE
Wow! Finally moving up in the world! Thanks but no thanks, I already got a job here.

COLT
Why you good for nothing lawman! Colt McCoy doesn’t take no for an answer!

DUKE
I suggest you mosey on your way to Wichita now or anywhere else far away from Old Town.

COLT
The only place I’m moseying on to right now is the saloon to give you a half hour to change your mind! You’re the best hand in the West after me and I’d love to have ya. I expect a better attitude when I get back.

Colt leaves and the town is in a fervor. Duke stands up on a pedestal and addresses the crowd.

DUKE

Leave a Reply

