Flynn Lockwood: Scene 4

Flynn Lockwood and the Temple of Eden- Scene 4

by Vincent S. Hannam

EXT. UNIVERSITY CAMPUS. AFTERNOON.

Our hero, FLYNN LOCKWOOD, is sitting beside himself on the grass amidst a sea of college students. He is memorizing the name and number of SCHROEDER. It is the day after he witnessed his father, SEAN, be kidnapped by agents of a group known as the Fourth Arm- an international terrorist organization pledged to seeking out the paranormal in order to further Nazi ideals. Flynn knows this but is powerless to do anything at the moment: he must first find a clue as to where they might be headed. While reflecting by a pond, WALTER approaches him and he pockets the paper for the time being.

WALTER

Flynn! Flynn!

FLYNN

Hello, Walt.

WALTER

Have you seen your father around? I’ve been needing to ask his opinion on some research I’m doing.

FLYNN

Walter… Can I confide in you?

WALTER

Of course, Flynn. What’s on your mind?

FLYNN

Yesterday I went looking for my dad… I figure he’d be Downtown like every Sunday and I was right… Well, I know you missed the board meeting but I’m sure you heard what happened.

WALTER

You know Benjamin is the first one to spread gossip like that.

FLYNN

Yeah, well… I finally caught up to him but before I could reach him, three men in black took him away…

WALTER

What do you mean?

FLYNN

I mean I couldn’t stop the Fourth Arm from taking my dad from right under my nose!

Pause. Walter is very serious now.

WALTER

Flynn, I’m going to be very serious with you right now. I believe that Sean was kidnapped and we need to notify the police right away-

FLYNN

But-

WALTER

Listen to me now! To make an assumption as irrational as the Fourth Arm, well, that’s just… dangerous. As far as we know they’re permanently based in the back alleys of Europe. You’re young yet, don’t go ruining all you’ve worked for with such claims. You’ll be turned away from every legitimate university campus in the country.

FLYNN

My father has been kidnapped and I can’t go to the police, because you’re right. They’ll laugh me out of the station if I told them a group of Neo-Nazi occultists abducted one of the world’s leading researchers on Middle Eastern religion and science. But you know what, that’s exactly why is would be the type of bastards like the Fourth Arm.

Walter sees that Flynn is completely convinced and a part of him agrees.

WALTER

What did you say they had on?

FLYNN

All three had trench coats but the leader was a tall guy with an eyepatch and bowler hat.

Walter suddenly comes to life.

WALTER

Flynn, come with me.

 

INT. LIBRARY. AFTERNOON.

Walter pulls up a webpage showing the man whom Flynn had encountered before, FUEHLER.

WALTER

This mug ring a bell?

FLYNN

Yeah, that’s the sonofabitch. Looks like this was before the pirate-wear huh?

WALTER

Oh, yeah. It was put out by his cellmate while serving a life sentence in England for the first-degree murder of a museum curator. Says he confessed gladly and predicted he would escape by his third year.

FLYNN

Obviously he did. That was six years ago. How’d he fly the coop?

WALTER

Unexplainable. The warden couldn’t come up with anything better than “vanishing through the walls.” The inmate you took his eye out was even found hanged in his solitary confinement. Look, Flynn, I’m a scientist but even I have to admit there are things in this world that can’t be explained. And if you’re thinking of tackling characters like this and an organization like the Fourth Arm then… well, you’ll need help.

FLYNN

Thanks Walt.

WALTER

Earlier you said you had a lead.

Flynn pulls out the paper from his pocket and gives it to Walter. 

FLYNN

I think we have to go to Rome.

WALTER

It’s a good time of year to go too.

Flynn cracks a smile.

The camera slowly zooms in to the face of Fuehler on the computer screen.

 

TO BE CONTINUED…

 

 

Leave a Reply

