Flynn Lockwood: Scene 1

Flynn Lockwood and the Temple of Eden- Scenes One and Two

02/01/2010

by Vincent S. Hannam

EXT. LAKEFRONT. AFTERNOON.
It is a pleasant day on the lake and two days before the 4th of July. The Lakefront reflects the festivities with banners and flags everywhere. Professor Flynn Lockwood is walking by the lake when a girl catches his eye.

FLYNN
Excuse me, Miss, care for some cotton candy?

GIRL
Afternoon, Professor.

FLYNN
Where do you get the idea-

GIRL
(bashful)
I really am flattered, Professor Lockwood, but my mother really wouldn’t be able to stand the notion of me going with my Human Studies instructor.

FLYNN
Neither would the University brass…

GIRL
But if you want we could ignore my mother-

FLYNN
-No, you just stay the innocent sweet thing that you are. To himself: I don’t want to ruin another work of art.

GIRL
Oh… all right, Professor. I’ll see you in the Fall then!

The GIRL run offs and we see her run into the arms of an apparent boyfriend.

FLYNN
Another work of art.

WALTER (O.C.)
Flynn? Is that really you?

He sees a friend, Walter Prescott.

WALTER
I didn’t expect to see you back so soon! Eh, I see you still don’t differentiate between your…eh… types of women.

FLYNN
Don’t worry, Walter, I‘m in no mood for any type.

WALTER
I take it then your not back for positive reasons.

FLYNN
Let’s go somewhere less crowded.

EXT. PIER. AFTERNOON.

WALTER
Good Lord, I’m so sorry Flynn.

FLYNN
I’m telling you, it’s the last time I bring my intrepid old man on another expedition, I don’t care what Benjamin or anyone else on that damn board says.

WALTER
Keep in mind I happen to be on that damn board? Look, these trips mean the world to him. And the University, mind you. You can’t dismiss his intellect no matter how… cumbersome or naïve he may be.

FLYNN
I know, I know. You’re not telling me anything your associates haven’t said before. He’s just better suited for classrooms and chalkboards, that’s all.

WALTER
And you’re better suited for jungles and snakes. You’re a perfect duo, Flynn, his brains to your brawn.

Flynn gives him a look.

WALTER (CONT’D)
Please be more understanding.

FLYNN
You know a pay raise would help me be more understanding.

WALTER
There are more important things in life, my friend.

FLYNN
It was the Statue of Altaire, Walt. Legend says it was the last gift Moctezuma gave to his wife-

WALTER
-And the first Cortez gave to his. I know, Flynn. I know what it meant to you and believe me, I know what it meant to the University. But let it go, your dad didn’t do it on purpose. Something else will come up before you know it.

FLYNN
I guess you’re right. I just need a vacation.

WALTER
That’s the spirit.

FLYNN
With pay.

WALTER
You’re pushing it, Flynn.

They both grin.

FLYNN
Walter, I’ve been pushing it all my life.

Flynn gets up and leaves. Walter calls out to him.

WALTER
Wait, don’t forget the board meeting tomorrow! Oh, what does it matter, he’ll still be late.

INT. HIDEOUT. NIGHT.
Sitting around a large table are six cloaked figures. The scene is very dim, with two or three candles burning. They are a group of high-ranking Neo-Nazi’s, heavily involved with the Occult and it’s power from which they benefit. Five of the men are also Chairmen of the University; including Benjamin, Richard, and John. The only one not apart of the University is the tallest one, Frueler. His face is also the only one revealed throughout the scene, the rest being hidden in the shadows of their cloaks.

Leave a Reply

