RIP Pokemon

The other day on the drive to Gainesville, my brother and I got to talking about a favorite subject of ours, our old Game Boy Pokemon games and the rosters we assembled. Now for me, as silly as it all sounds, my Red Version was always one of my most valuable possessions. Red and Gold version were practically the only Game Boy games I ever owned and played, not to mention one of the few video games in general.

Therefore, because all this was so important to me, I would never even consider starting over with a new game and erasing all that I had worked to achieve. And what would that be exactly? What were my main goals? Well, after defeating the Elite Four it was not to amass all 151 pokemon (as my brother did), but to train the ones I did have to the nearly impossible level of 100!

And after a decade of playing those two games I was able to achieve, what I felt like, was a pretty good team. From my first pokemon Bulbasaur to Mewtwo, I was able to train eighteen different pokemon to level 100.

Now I say, “Rest In Peace,” because like all great things this story came to an abrupt end the other day. Wishing to reflect on my proud childhood, I turned on my Gold version to discover that the game had restarted itself due to age. I had lost all the pokemon that mattered to me, for my Red was still alive and kicking (ironic, eh?) but I had transferred everybody to Gold for what I thought was safekeeping. Guess I was wrong and at least thirteen years of effort was gone forever.

So now I end with the Hall of Fame in memorial to those who reached the 100 Milestone and to the next generation who were currently in training.

Red Version

Total Time 213:54

Total Pokemon 116

Venusaur*

Gyarados*

Mewtwo

Electabuzz

Kabutops

Raichu

Alakazam

Arbok

Pidgeot

Primeape

Dragonite

Aerodactyl

Blastoise

Charizard

Snorlax

Snorlax

Gold Version

Meganium*

Ho-Oh

Charmeleon (Mr. Ferraro)

Noctowl (Great British Ninja)

Golduck (Mr. Gibbs)

Raticate

Elekid

Starmie

Politoad

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

