AC/DC: For Those About to Rock

Most people who know me fairly well will also know that my favorite band is AC/DC. I can say that hands-down, forever and always, because like my adoration, their music is timeless. Tales of trying to snare girls within our teenage clutches and the subsequent rejections of those girls, having a drink, and in general cutting loose and raising a little hell.

Now of course, those examples are not exactly elequent pieces of poetry. As a music lover and artist, I will tell you that I am immediately drawn to deep, thought-provoking lyrics, however AC/DC does in fact go much deeper- to the music itself. I don’t believe there is a finer rhythm and blues rock n’ roll band out there. Magazines and VH1 will label them as “hard rock” or “heavy metal,” but the band members themselves will tell you that they only think of themselves as simply rock n’ roll.

And what exactly is the essensce of Rock n’ Roll? For me, it is a calling to challenge the rules a little- to turn up the volume a little too loud, to drive my car a little too fast, to have a little too much fun! Now believe me, when infused with the boogie woogie that is AC/DC, nothing is more infectious, and you see it in the band when they’re onstage. They may be nearing their sixties but it’s still the some rockin’ energy from when they were young and when I saw them live in 2008, I knew I was a part of something special.

This band is fun and there’s a reason they’re the biggest selling band in the history of popular music, because sometimes folks want to get away from the rock operas and poetry and just shake a leg.

PS

Don’t misunderstand me either, AC/DC does have a few songs that are the definition of Blues music, and I can’t not have them inspire me (specifically “Ride On”, “It’s a Long Way to the Top if You Wanna Rock n’ Roll”, and “Aint No Fun (Waitin’ Round to be a Millionare”). I don’t know, something about those songs speaks to the artist in me.

1. Highway to Hell (1979) Highway to Hell” “Touch Too Much” “Shot Down in Flames” and “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)”

2. Back in Black (1980) “You Shook Me All Night Long” “Hells Bells” and “Back in Black”

3. Powerage (1978) “Down Payment Blues” “What’s Next to the Moon” and “Sin City”

4. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (1976) “Ride On” “Aint No Fun (Waitin’ Round to be a Millionare)” and “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap”

5. Black Ice (2008) “Rock n’ Roll Dream” “Big Jack” and “Rock ‘n’ Roll Train”

6. Let There Be Rock (1977) “Whole Lotta Rosie” “Bad Boy Boogie” and “Hell Aint a Bad Place To Be”

7. For Those About to Rock We Salute You (1981) “Lets’ Get It Up” “Put the Finger On You” and “For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)”

8. High Voltage (1976) “The Jack” “It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock n’ Roll)” and “TNT”

9. Ballbreaker (1995) “Hail Caesar” “Boogie Man” and “Ballbreaker”

10. Flick of the Switch (1983) “Nervous Shakedown” “Bedlam in Belgium” and “Flick of the Switch”

11. Fly on the Wall (1985) “Shake Your Foundations” “Sink the Pink” and “Don’t Talk to Strangers”

12. Blow Up Your Video (1988) “Heatseeker” and “That’s the Way I Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll”

…. And from there I can’t really discern the rest of their albums. Not because they’re not worthy! But because until I haven’t listened to them all (can you believe I haven’t?? Neither can I!) I can’t really order them, can I?

But in case you’re curious the rest are The Razor’s Edge (1990)  and Stiff Upper Lip (2000)

Thank you and goodnight!

One thought on “AC/DC: For Those About to Rock

  1. What a totally awesome tribute. You know, they ARE the best. They were just plain old REAL. Great read, this. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

