Never Stop Trying to Improve

“You never stop trying to improve. That’s what great players do.”
– Bruce Bochy, manager of the San Francisco Giants

Now while Bochy was speaking about Buster Posey (one of my favorite players in the game right now. I mean, with a name like that, how can you not love him? Oh right, when he hits a grand slam in the NLDS to knock the Reds out of the competition!….) Sorry, but I digress….

My point is that when I read this quote on MLB.com it really spoke to me as an actor. I love making parallels between the theatre and sports, actors and athletes, because we can both live by the above philosophy.

I for one, need to always keep this in mind as I transition from college to the professional world. How will I continue to improve without the aid of classes and professors? The options are varied and limitless. Read a play a day! Once a week, find a monologue and work on it! Write a 10-minute play! Watch a movie, TV show, or play with stellar performances and take notes on how the performers breath, move, and follow the rhythms of their text.

These are but a few of the things I can think of and if I want to be successful I know I must continue these practices and more.

Leave a Reply

