Halloween Flick Picks, 2014

I love watching movies, but if there is one time of year when I really cram in the hours it’s October. For the past three years now I have maintained this list and it’s very interesting to see which films I watch for the first time (Scream, American Psycho, The Frighteners) and how many times I revisit old favorites (all the Frankenstein movies, An American Werewolf in London, The Evil Dead series).

I will say, I had hoped to get more Universal classics in but alas, rarely do they play on TV and I do not own them on dvd… yet. It has been too long since I have seen Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein! However, I did get to enjoy Young Frankenstein for the first time in years. And because TV is the main conduit of viewing, I have to give credit to AMC and the “Fear Fest” they play every year. Hence, the numerous Stephen King adaptions as well as all the slasher flicks. Gotta love the awful Halloween sequels… or do you? I don’t know, I wish I had caught the first one instead of Halloween III a million times….

Who knows what next year will bring? I sure hope it brings John Carpenter’s The Thing and Abbott and Costello and definitely the original Carrie over the remake (twice…)

Frankenstein (1931)

American Psycho (2000)

The Wolf Man (1941)

Young Frankenstein (1974)

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

The Frighteners (1996)

Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

Cujo (1983)

Misery (1990)

Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)

Carrie (2013)

Scream 4 (2011)

The Evil Dead (1981)

An American Werewolf in London (1981)

All those and then the classic Goosebump episodes of “The Haunted Mask” and “A Night in Terror Tower” (1995) as well as parts of Halloween II (1980), Halloween III: Season of the Witch (1982), Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (1989)

1980s (7) 1940s (3) 1990s (3) 2010s (2) 1930s (1) 1970s (1)  2000s (1) 

*So some more fun facts: It appears as if the 1980s is once again the winner but by a larger margin than normal. Usually the ’30s and ’40s give the decade of the slasher flicks a run for its money and there is way more disparity between the decades this year. Very spread out, very even. Also, far less science fiction in years past… hmm, I feel this could change any given year.

Leave a Reply

