I want to be happy.

I want to be happy. I want to travel and explore. I want to go to Glacier, Yosemite, and Yellowstone. I want to live in a cabin with no electricity and read and write. I want to write a novel. I want to write more plays. I want to read more plays. I want to read more novels and philosophy. I want to learn about other cultures around the world. I want to wear more hats. I want to work at a bookstore. I want to see more outdoor baseball games. I want to live on my own. I want a clean house. I want to eat healthy. I want balance and harmony in my physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual worlds. I want to go to church more and not be pressured to volunteer, just appreciated for showing up. I want to go back to the Smoky Mountains and get in touch with my roots. I want to go to Europe and get in touch with my roots. I want to stay with Little David in England. I want to stay with family in Spain. I want to visit the battlefields of my forefathers in France and Germany and pay my respects. I want my family around. I want to do Mary’s Wedding. I want to visit the Moscow Art Theatre to see where it all began. I want to be more forthcoming. I want to stand up more for what I believe. I want to be able to voice my opinions intelligently and not worry about people on Facebook getting offended. Silence is wrong. I want to make great art that speaks to my generation. I want to do Waiting for Lefty. I want to do Inherit the Wind. I want to Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo. I want to learn from the best. I want a dog. I want to travel with just my dog. I want to remember that there is always more money. I want to eat more oranges because they remind me of home. I want to cook more. I want an apple tree. I want to grow a garden. I want to grow tomatoes and collard greens. I want to be respected. I want to respect others. I want to forgive. I want to get used to the cold. I want to go ice fishing. I want to build an igloo. I want to sleep in an igloo. I want to ride a train. I want to walk more. I want to know the different kinds of birds. I want to know the different kinds of trees. I want to memorize a few good jokes. I want to be able to quote Shakespeare. I want to get less drunk in social situations. I want to worry less about things I cannot change. I want a new haircut. I want to grow a beard. I want a leather aviator hat. I want whiter teeth. I want a lot of things that are only possible if I truly put my mind to it. I believe we are our greatest vessels for change and I want to embrace that. I want to run with that. I want, when the winter gets long and lonely, to be able to look back at this list and invigorate myself to cross something off. I want to remember that I am only twenty-three and there is still a lot of life to live. I want to believe that. I know it can all go in the blink of an eye, so this becomes all the more paramount. Achieve it all, but not so fast that you can’t appreciate it. I want to be happy.

Leave a Reply

