Impressions: Elliot, A Soldier’s Fugue

This past year at Park Square Theatre, encompassed many themes, and there is so much to look back on with wonder and awe. Least of which was the the fact that it was my first year with the company as a marketing assistant, front of house extraordinaire and theatre blogger! Like I said, many themes to explore but I’m going to make things simple right start at the beginning. Someone once said that’s the best place to start.

I was completely new to the Twin Cities last summer and subletting a studio apartment in Minneapolis, working a nondescript temp job to stay afloat until I could get something solid under my feet. Finally the summer doldrums passed and with the start of the new season at Park Square came the opportunity to come on board.

I distinctly remember sitting down with Connie Shaver, the Marketing & Audience Development Director, fully expecting to interview for a Front of House position, but was wonderfully surprised to hear her interest in my personal blog and social media presence. Eventually I got into the box office, but from the start I was always involved in the actual goings-on of the theatre-making process. My first assignment with the season was the show, Elliot: A Soldier’s Fugue, and to attend the opening night party with my handy dandy camera in tow.

The night was marked by good spirits as everyone knew how well the play had gone. For those who missed out on that September night, the play deals with a Puerto Rican family and, Elliot (the youngest of three generations of soldiers), dealing with the effects of returning home after a tour of duty in Iraq. All the actors were on point and effortlessly handled the rich, poetic script by Pulitzer Prize winner Quiara Alegría Hudes. After the show, I got to interact with those actors as both a fan and professional, taking pictures and making memories. I met Richard Cook, I chatted with Rich Remedios about his Meisner training, took candid photos of Ricardo Vasquez, and started my first year in the Twin Cities on the strongest foot I could ever think possible. Elliot was a great show, yes, but as I reflect it was a great experience all around; my first at Park Square and the first of my  year.

 

Leave a Reply

